bad at posting regularly

But how is one to post when one has Mandarin to do, food to cook, work to do and a baby to raise?  Especially when that baby has gotten four COUNT THEM four teeth in two weeks.  The fifth of the month (seventh tooth in total), her right top incisor, is about to come in from what I can feel, which means this mama is in for more sleepless nights.

But – food.  Oh I love California.  I love the fresh veggies.  So far these past seven days I have made: <a href=”http://honest-food.net/2012/02/06/nettle-pasta/”>strettine</a&gt; with oyster mushrooms, spanokopita (from the New Moosewood cookbook), gado gado (also from New Moosewood), and zucchini feta pancakes (New Moosewood as well and the only recipe I wasn’t thrilled with).  Pumpkin ravioli with white sauce.  Beef tortellini with marinara.  Chicken with mint and olives.  And then baby purees for the freezer: peas with mint, chicken with leek pea and carrot, apricots and golden beets, green beans with pears and spinach.  My lovely babysitter I think has taken a bit of pity on me and brought me low mein the other day, which was heavenly, since I can’t cook Chinese food for crap and S. is apparently a really good cook (from what I can tell of her Chinese cooking – her other employer seems to think so and she is also Chinese…so, I will take their word for it.  It’s delicious anyways).

Mandarin – I have counted from one to one hundred more times than I care to remember.  After a certain point, your ears ring from the constant tones, your tongue twists with the fast pace of the tongue workout that Chinese consonant series pose to the English speaker.

Work not going so fast.  But that’s ok.  I also joined a gym and have an appointment with a personal trainer on Tuesday.  Bye bye baby weight.

Also, at long last, I’m going to see an orthopedist about the knee.  I don’t think there’s any cure other than constant exercise.  Well, probably that, and a certain twenty-two pound baby learning to walk.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment